Coder, developer, engineer: All the things I've called myself over the years and why

I have written code for a couple of decades now and have been called a lot of things during that time. Sometimes my title made sense, sometimes not so much. And sometimes that mattered, and sometimes it felt like it didn't.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://triplebyte.com/blog/programmer-developer-engineer-all-the-things-called-myself

Software engineer? Coder? Programmer? Developer? Architect? I’d love to get a read on what everyone thinks of titles in the software-maker world. What do they mean to you and why? Leave a comment below!

I make software and I love to code, but I’m a Computer Scientist; I believe understanding what you’re doing is more important than doing it fast (and wrong).

3 Likes

I basically do the same thing that gets called different things by the company I’m in (or not in).
At Cisco, everyone’s an Engineer, so I was a Software Engineer III.
At other places, just a Programmer, which kind of ignores the architecting and UX/UI design (and frontend/backend partitioning) that I was also doing.
Nobody refers to programs as “programs” anymore, but “App Writer” sounds a bit clunky.

At the very bottom of the nomenclature problem, though, is that fact that this business, critical as it is to modern culture and economy, has no independent standards ascertaining and licensing organization, such a Law or Medical License, with certified grades of competency and appropriate name suffixes. The closest we get is … a badge from Triplebyte.

1 Like

The most important purpose of a title is to communicate your role. It isn’t to stroke your ego, or to tell people what you aspire to be, or how you personally view yourself outside of your job.