What does the future of software engineering look like?

Hi everyone,

I am a young early-career professional still exploring his passions trying to find a balance of fields I want to specialize in. I have trouble researching software engineering job reports, trends, and future outlooks/discussions.

What are some resources you guys might recommend?

I’m hoping to find things that can answer questions similar to:

1. What does the future of mobile development look like?
  2. Is VR/AR software development going to grow? Will there be careers in this niche?
  3. What are some possible types of software engineering jobs that could come in the next 5-10 years?
  4. Job market datasets analyzing programming languages, descriptions, roles, frameworks, etc.

Hi, Aram
Most of the recent 20-30 years Software Engineers converted paper based operations into computer based programs. So basically we ware normalizing our world around us into objects and relations between them. It is called analytical accounting, it is needed for human decision making. This kind of activity is about to be over. The current advancements are in the area of ML, which is about automated decision making, bypassing human being. We don’t need analytical accounting as we know it anymore, we don’t need normalization of objects into databases, because we don’t need humans in decision making process because they are slow to process volume of data we consume. We are capable to consume data without human key input in form of video, audio and automated logs, so humans are not needed in contemporary systems of input. So that process of data normalization is also not needed.
Resume:

• VR/AR is just a form of data visualization, it is your future monitor and keyboard, so don’t bother about them.